CSA Newsletter Week #4, June 16th

Farm Notes

I think we have finally (hopefully) caught up with all of our field work and planting. There was a big push the end of last week, over the weekend, and early this week to get the rest of our fields in and transplants and seeds planted. All just in time to start thinking about seeding for fall vegetables! The tomatoes and peppers are looking good and the living mulch we seeded in-between the rows of plastic is getting thick. Things are starting to come together!

020

Don’t forget about the annual solstice potluck party here at the farm on Friday, June 24th. Plan to meet at the farm at 5:30 pm, eat at 6 pm and a farm tour to follow. Bring a dish to share and invite your friends! Click here for more information.

We will have our Farm Stand set up at both the campus and farm locations. The sugar peas have come to an end, but we still have some carrots and transplants for sale that are not included in the share this week, along with extra share items in case you need any additionally veggies. This will be first come, first serve, as we have limited quantities of extras. We accept cash or check only. However, if you are already a member of the CSA, we can charge your credit card on file.

025

Note from an Apprentice

This week’s note is from Olivia Cline.

Two paragraphs are not enough to tell you about my relationship with agriculture, so consider this my speed-dating version.

In addition to apprenticing at UK South Farm this summer, I’ve been working on another organic farm in the region for about 5 months now. Instead of writing on a specific agricultural principle, I want to share where I came from; where I hope to be going; and some of what I’ve learned as I have passed over the well-paying job, with a salary and health insurance, and jumped with two muddy feet into farming.

I’m the daughter of a full-time “conventional” grain farmer. My dad tends 150 head of cattle, raises 1400 acres of grain, and sells seed for DuPont Pioneer. As a kid, I slept on the floorboards of tractors; shoveled manure out of the trough; played hide and seek in cornfields; and ate meatloaf, corn, and green beans at least once a week. Leading up to college I couldn’t find fulfillment in my life so I decided to pursue money. With my connections, it made sense for me to go into agribusiness. During my freshman year at UK everything about my life changed and my vocation was no exception. With a little help from Kentucky’s own Wendell Berry, my eyes were opened to the cost of what I was pursuing. Eventually, I gave up on the idea of a salary job and decided to pursue farming to hopefully be a part of the actual solution. So, that’s what I’m trying to do. I’m trying to learn how to grow healthy food in a way that does not destroy the land or my community. I’m pretty sure I’ll never figure it out, but I’ll share some stuff I’m learning on the pursuit.

  1. Most people don’t really care, but some folks do—and they make it worth it. (especially when they bring us hot coffee at the farmer’s market in February)
  2. Walking through a field of vegetables is like walking through an art gallery—Swiss chard, cabbage, kohlrabi, strawberries, fresh eggs, etc.!
  3. I eat like a queen; it literally cannot get any fresher. Did I mention the strawberries?
  4. I’ll probably never drive a binz or take long vacations, but I’ll get to leave my kids with a different kind of inheritance.
  5. Even though organic vegetable farming is really different than the farm I grew up on, the skills and work ethic that my dad taught me by example are totally applicable and necessary.

On another note, I realize that not everyone can or should farm. I’m thankful for doctors and artists and chefs and teachers, but we all eat and so we all have some responsibility here. So, I leave you with a list of summer challenges, try tackling just one.

  1. Grow some of your own food. It will make you more appreciative and it will lower your standards for perfection in the grocery store.
  2. Encourage your kids to farm—go ahead, lump farmers in there with engineers and pharmacists and lawyers.
  3. Cut down the honeysuckle in your neighborhood and plant some fruit trees or vegetables.
  4. Take the time to learn some fundamental organic agriculture priciples so that you know why and how it works.
  5. Reduce food waste in your own home.
  6. Share a meal with your neighbors.

So Lexington, I plan on staying and I look forward to feeding you. Thank you for choosing to put local, organic food on your table.

Olivia is to the very right of the picture, cleaning green onion bunches.

Olivia is to the bottom right of the picture, cleaning green onions.

What’s In Your Share

For this week, you’ll receive:

+ Turnips
+ Beets
+ Salanova and Lettuce Mix
+ Chard
+ Green Onions
+ Green Cabbage
+ Broccoli

001

Veggie Tips (or Facts)

Beets are rich in folate and vitamin C. Beet greens are high in potassium, calcium, iron, beta carotene and vitamin C. Approximately 1 pound of fresh beets is the equivalent of 4 cups of chopped beets. There are about 75 calories per cup of sliced and cooked beets.

Green Cabbage can be fixed in multiple ways. Try eating it raw in salads, cooked, steamed, braised or fried. Sometimes cooking cabbage can give it a strong odor; try cooking celery with the cabbage to cut down on the odor. Cabbage is a good storage vegetable and can be stored for 3-4 months in a fridge with high humidity. It is an excellent source of vitamin C and bioflavonoids. One pound of cabbage is equivalent to about 4-5 cups chopped. One cup of shredded cabbage has about 34 calories in it.

008

Recipes

For your convenience this week’s recipes in a printable format.

Dragon Noodles
Recipe from BudgetBytes

Ingredients:
4 oz. lo mein noodles
2 Tbsp butter
¼ tsp crushed red pepper
1 large egg
1 Tbsp brown sugar
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp sriracha (rooster sauce)
1 handful fresh cilantro
1 sliced green onion
Directions:
Begin to boil water for the noodles. Once the water reaches a full boil, add the noodles and cook according to the package directions (boil for 5-7 minutes).
While waiting for the water to boil, prepare the sauce. In a small bowl stir together the brown sugar, soy sauce, and sriracha.
In a large skillet melt 2 tablespoons of butter over medium-low heat. Add the red pepper to the butter as it melts. Whisk an egg in a bowl and then add to the melted butter. Stir gently and cook through. Once the egg is done cooking, turn off the heat.
When the noodles are tender, drain the water and then add them to the skillet with the cooked egg. Also add the prepared sauce. Turn the heat on to low to evaporate excess moisture, and stir until everything is coated well with the sauce. Sprinkle the sliced green onions and cilantro leaves (whole) on top and serve!
+++
Roasted Beets
From The Practical Produce Cookbook by Ray and Elsie Hoover
Ingredients:
5 medium beets, washed and trimmed
2 tbsp. olive or vegetable oil
1 tbsp. vinegar
1 tbsp. fresh dill
1/4 tsp. salt or to taste
Directions:
Wrap each beet in foil and place on a cookie sheet. Bake in a preheated 400º oven for 1 hour or until beets feel tender when pressed. When beets are cool enough to handle, peel skins. Quarter beets. Combine oil, vinegar, dill and salt. Add beets; toss to coat.
+++

Au Gratin Cabbage
From Simply in Season

Ingredients:
2 cups cabbage, shredded
1/2 cup carrots, shredded
1/3 cup green onions, chopped
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
3 Tbsp cheese, shredded

Directions:
Sauté cabbage, carrots, and green onions until crisp-tender in greased frypan. Transfer to a greased 1-quart baking dish. Combine milk, egg, and cheese in a small bowl. Pour over vegetables. Garnish with 1 Tbs fresh parsley and 1 Tbs grated Parmesan cheese. Bake at 350°F for 30-35 minutes.

Leave a Reply

