CSA Manager update

Hello CSA members! Tiffany here.  I am writing with bittersweet, but very exciting news: I have left my position as CSA Manager and Kristi Durbin has taken over!  Kristi is a Sustainable Agriculture graduate, completing her student apprenticeship at the farm in 2012 and has been on staff at the farm ever since.  She has already planned new and exciting things for the upcoming season and I am confident that the UKCSA will continue to provide quality organic vegetables to our members.  I am thrilled to watch her grow, just as I did, in her farm managerial skills.  Joining her are returning staff members Aaron German, Katie Fiske, and Alex Goodman led by our fearless leader Dr. Mark Williams.

Although I will no longer be managing the CSA, I am still working closely with Mark to complete my Master’s degree focused on an economic analysis of the UKCSA operation. My goal is to provide benchmarking financial numbers that may be helpful to beginning farmers. At the end of January, the UKCSA hosted a farm tour in conjunction with the Southern Sustainable Agriculture Working Group 2016 Conference (http://www.ssawg.org/january-2016-conference/) to share our farming system with farmers from across the south. Opportunities to share ideas with other farmers who are making locally-based agriculture viable in their communities is always inspiring.  I am ever more passionate about sustainable agriculture transforming the way we feed our communities and am grateful that I have been a part of that movement at UK. The hands-on experience I received through my position has given me the confidence to run my own farm one day and the CSA-model has shown me that growing good, healthy food is transformative for people’s lives (both the farmer and the member).  I have loved every minute!

This year I will be joining my fiancé Alex Hessler in Blacksburg, Virginia who is a faculty member in the Department of Horticulture at Virginia Tech and also manages the Virginia Tech Dining Services Farm.  Needless to say we never (ok I admit-always!) have the topic of vegetable production as a conversation between us.  After finishing my Master’s degree, I will be looking to lease farmland in the Blacksburg/Roanoke area-so if any of you have any contacts, pass them along :).

A few memories through the years my years at the UKCSA:

Tough-looking crew, 2011:

5867576796_9a9cedcee3_z

Planting potatoes, 2012:

7248908908_9c235cabf3_z

Organic team meeting, 2013:

8815241735_9653e59034_z

Tiffany and Kristi harvesting fall broccoli,  2013:
10428763346_ce1dc780f4_z

First CSA harvest, 2014:

14122863798_5c0c5f00f3_z

Fall broccoli harvest, 2014:

16282047075_848bc1d63f_z

Planting potatoes, 2015: Aaron, Katie, Alex, Tiffany, Kristi:

17371272186_785c777ec4_z

Final CSA harvest, 2015:

18659182060_502e984e2a_z

8 thoughts on “CSA Manager update

  1. Tiffany, thank you for your leadership! You have been a consistent force and a smiling face at each distribution. My husband and I have been transformed in many ways by our membership in this CSA, we joined at a time when we were both committed to improving our diet – and the abundance of each week’s harvest made it very easy to significantly increase our consumption of delicious fresh vegetables and fruit. It has also challenged me as a cook, to learn how to prepare food items that I had no experience with.

    Best wishes to you as you transition to Virginia.

    Sincerely,
    Marian Guinn

    • Thanks so much Marian. I (and the rest of the farm staff) always appreciate comments like yours. We love the impact that this program has had on our members. It makes a big difference knowing who we are growing for!
      -Tiffany

  2. Tiffany if this gets to you many best wishes to you in your new venture….including the move to Blacksburg, VA. I know things will go well for you as you have done such a tremendous job with CSA here.

    Take care and am looking forward to the new season here. Tina Peter

  3. Sorry to see you go, as your leadership has been instrumental in the growth of the CSA. But understand wanting to be with family!!! Good luck!

    Ashley A Montgomery MD
    Assistant Professor of Medicine
    Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
    University of Kentucky
    (O) 859-218-2894
    (P) 859-330-2243

    STATEMENT OF CONFIDENTIALITY
    The contents of this e-mail message and any attachments are confidential and are intended solely for addressee. The information may also be legally privileged. This transmission is sent in trust, for the sole purpose of delivery to the intended recipient. If you have received this transmission in error, any use, reproduction or dissemination of this transmission is strictly prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please immediately notify the sender by reply e-mail or at (859) 330-2243 and delete this message and its attachments, if any.

Leave a Reply

