CSA Newsletter Week #18, September 24th

Farm Notes

The fall season is officially here now and the beginning of summer seems like forever ago. We’ve been hand weeding in the carrots and beets which are starting to look really nice and  we’ve started rubber banding the cauliflower plants to keep the sun off of them until they are ready. It seems that we are always in the fields harvesting for either the whole sale or for the CSA. Everyone is constantly on the move!

I just wanted to remind everyone that we will be hosting our annual fall potluck at the farm on Saturday October 3rd. We will meet at the organic building around 12:30 pm and we will start eating at 1 pm. As always, the farm will provide plates, utensils, and drinks (water/lemonade). All you need to do is bring yourself and a dish to share! Friends and family are welcome!

21648116341_4c84b121ae_o

Note from an Apprentice

This week’s note is from Jordan Bressler.

Wait it’s almost October already?? It seems like just yesterday that I walked into that funky looking Organic Unit building for our first 8am farm class in May. To be honest, my nerves were something crazy that day. I was full of excitement but boy was I afraid I was going to be clueless the entire summer. Since I can remember I’ve spent my days (of course when I don’t have school) on horse farms where I learned lots of valuable farm skills like operating tractors and manure spreaders, pounding posts, and fixing fences but nothing can prepare you for working on a vegetable farm…. except working on a vegetable farm. Although my sustainable agriculture minor has given me some (by some I mean minute!) knowledge on the production and care of soil and plants, my dietetics classes didn’t really prepare me for life at South Farm. The first couple days I was overwhelmed by everyone identifying the insects we found in the fields, the students who had some idea of the diseases we were seeing, and the ability people had in recognizing the crops in the fields. Don’t get me wrong, I know my veggies when they’re on my plate and can tell corn from onions in the field, but man can those leafy greens trip you up sometimes. I was sooooo excited to work at South Farm this summer for so many reasons but the most important was to get an idea of what farmers go through to get food on our plates. My appreciation for agriculture has always been absolutely rich but my actual knowledge of what farmers do on a day-to-day basis was very little. I’ve always felt that I won’t be happy with my future career unless I’m spending it making a difference for other people’s lives. Because of this the path I’ve chosen is hopefully working with food access/security and I didn’t want to begin this until I had seen with my own eyes what happens in our food system at all levels. This summer was without a doubt abundant in life lessons and one I’ll never forget. It’s insane how much you can learn from people without them knowing they’re actually teaching. I came to appreciate different types of music (I was forced to get away from my country music some), learned about the really unique skills some of my fellow students had (like fire throwing!), and was able to truly find myself. As cliché as that sounds, all the people I got to know and all the skills and knowledge I absorbed caused me to bloom and become my truest self. And because of that I will always be grateful for my time as an apprentice at UK South Farm.

Unfortunately, I couldn't find any good photos where you can see Jordan's face. But here she is on the right, earlier this year bunching beets.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any good photos where you can see Jordan’s face. But here she is on the right, earlier this year bunching beets.

What’s In Your Share

For this week, you’ll receive:
+ Winter squash (of the Thelma Sanders variety)
+ Romaine Lettuce
+ Salanova Lettuce mix
+ Green Cabbage
+ Broccoli
+ Mixed Kale
+ Red Meat Radishes (also known as Watermelon Radishes)
+ Braising Mix with Siberian Kale
+ Spinach

(On a side note, I believe I may have said you could expect sweet potatoes this week…We did not have enough harvested from the first bed that were cured, so we have to wait until the rest are cured that we just harvested on Monday. You will get them soon though!)

21627618742_3cbcbdcc29_o

You-Pick

Items that are still available for you-pick this week include the following:
+ Pawpaws
+ hot peppers
+ Herbs: onion chives, garlic chives, some flat parsley, thyme, marjoram, savory, lavender, chamomile, sage, oregano, rosemary and basil
+ flowers

Please remember to bring your own pruners or scissors for harvesting U-Pick items!

022

Veggie Tips

Red Meat Radishes or watermelon radishes are a type of radish that grow really big and are a nice pink color on the inside. The skin is typically spicy like you would think a radish is, but the inside is sweet.

+ Please pardon our Romaine lettuce. The weather was hot and the lettuce was about to bolt so we went ahead and harvested it a little early. It isn’t our best, but it will still taste good in a salad.

+ The Thelma Sanders winter squash is a cream colored acorn squash with a sweet chestnut flavor. This squash will also store for a long time. They also make a good substitute for butternut squash. Try saving the seeds and toasting them.

032

Recipes

Winter Squash with Quinoa and Cherries
Recipe from the HomeGrown Co-op
Serves 4

Ingredients:
2 winter squashes, washed (try this with acorn, butternut, thelma sanders for best results)
Olive oil
1 cup water
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed well
1/4 cup dried tart cherries or dried cranberries, preferably halved
1/4 cup chopped walnuts or pecans, preferably toasted
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1 tablespoon melted butter
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400F. Cut squash in half lengthwise; remove and discard seeds and membrane. Rub skin and cut edge with oil. Place squash face-down on a baking dish (preferably one with sides as high as the squash halves) and bake for 30 minutes.
Meanwhile, bring the water and salt to a boil in a medium saucepan. Add the quinoa, return to a boil and cook for 15 – 20 minutes or until liquid cooks away. Stir in the fruit, nuts, maple syrup, butter and cinnamon.
Mound the quinoa mixture in the squash halves. Cover with foil and bake for another 15 minutes.

+++

Roasted Watermelon Radishes
From myrecipes.com

Ingredients:
1 lb. watermelon radishes, trimmed
3 tbsp. olive oil, divided
1 tsp. coarse sea salt

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375°. Cut radishes into wedges. Mix with 2 tbsp. oil and put in a 2-qt. baking dish. Roast radishes, stirring occasionally, until fork tender, about 1 hour. Drizzle with remaining 1 tbsp. oil and sprinkle with sea salt.

+++

Broccoli Sausage Pasta

Ingredients:
1 lb turkey italian sausage
1 lb broccoli
1 box shaped pasta
1 onion
as much garlic as you can stand
Toasted Pine nuts
Parmesan Cheese
Chicken Stock
Red Pepper flakes

Directions:
Saute onion and garlic in pan until softened. Add sausage and saute until browned. At the same time, blanch the broccoli in boiling water and drain and cook pasta in boiling water until Al dente. Once Broccoli is done add it to the sausage mixture along with crushed red pepper flakes to taste. Add small amount of chicken or vegatable stock to moisten the “sauce”. Place a good amount of pasta on plate, add shaved parmesan, add “sauce”. Add more parmesan and toasted pine nuts.

 

Leave a Reply

